Sele First School

  • SearchSearch Site
  • Translate Translate Page
  • Facebook Facebook
  • Twitter Twitter
  • SeeSaw SeeSaw

Early Years



In Early Years our curriculum is created using the best available evidence on how children learn and reflects the broad range of skills, knowledge and attitudes children need as foundations for education. 


There are seven areas of learning within the Early Year Foundation Stage (EYFS). Each of the areas of learning and development are equally important and woven through out our curriculum. Our EYFS learning environments are well planned, carefully structured and organised to give children rich and stimulating experiences.


The prime areas are particularly important for building the foundations of learning, igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, forming relationships and thriving in school environment. These are:

• communication and language

• physical development

• personal, social and emotional development


We also focus on four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied.

These are:

• literacy

• mathematics

• understanding the world

• expressive arts and design


Our curriculum has no limits or barriers, but instead promotes a love of learning and a determination to succeed where children consistently keep on trying, showing resilience, motivation and high levels of self control.